What Happened?


I’ve lost about 15 pounds the last few months, which puts me a 6’0” and 155 pounds. I’ve also cut my beard and hair shorter. I now look like an anorexic Santa but feel fine and have no lack of energy. In Ashleigh Brilliant’s slick little book, I Have Abandoned My Search for Truth, And Am Now Looking for a Good Fantasy, he says, “Inside every older person is a younger person wondering what happened.” I could paraphrase that to, “Inside every sick person is a healthy person wondering what happened.”

 

Dr. Dax’s office called on Thursday to say he’d looked at the PET scan and thought it was okay to start chemo when I returned from vacation (Aug 2-9). Earlier we decided I would cancel it if treatment needed to begin right away. So this is a good sign, as long as nothing shows up on Monday’s bone marrow scan to change the scenario.

 

Susan and I are looking forward to San Diego with Bruce and Janet McNicol (sister and brother-in-law). Janet is an RN and Bruce is a doctor (sic), so I’ll be in good hands. Maybe I can write the cost of the trip off as part of my treatment!

 

One thought on “What Happened?

  1. Hi. Have you considered the hallelujah diet? I read all your posts & we will pray for you. My mom also had cancer for 15 years. Ps. 31:19 “Oh how great is thy goodness, which thou hast laid up for them that fear thee; which thou hast wrought for them that trust in thee before the sons of men!” That’s the verse I always prayed concerning her. The verse comes to mind – James 4:8 “Draw nigh to God, and he will draw nigh to you…” http://www.hacres.com/home/home.asp

Leave a Reply

