The Lymphoma Diet


I haven’t started chemo yet and already I’m having food issues. I can’t eat much at a time without getting cramps due to the tumors crowding the rightful occupants of my abdomen. While supine, I can lay a splayed hand on my stomach and feel swelling at all four points of the handmade compass. Sort of like palming a cantaloupe.

 

I might turn this to my advantage by writing The Lymphoma Diet Book. It’s the perfect plan for frustrated dieters. Eat all you can. Lots of lying around. No exercise required. True, it costs more than most weight loss programs but it has better results. The title might need some work, though.

 

Chemo probably won’t help my appetite but if it shrinks the masses it should make eating less painful. I’ll learn more at chemo orientation on Friday afternoon after my pre-surgery physical. I’m not stressed about either, or about starting chemo next Tuesday, no doubt because I haven’t been through it before. Of course, sitting on the beach several hours a day does tend to melt the worries.

 

 

3 thoughts on “The Lymphoma Diet

  1. Hi Mike,
    I was dignosed with non-hodgkins’ lymph in december of 2005. After 2 years of treatments I then developed large b cell lymph. since 2005 I have been through 3 yrs of Rotuxian, 28 radiation treatments, and 6 months of hard chemo. I have been in remission since june of 08. It’s hard some days no energy. Most days I am fine. I decided to eat anything I could going through treatment because of the days I couldn’t eat. I didn’t want to get weak. I will be praying for you. I ask the Lord for strength every day. Good luck to you.
    Donna

  2. Hi Mike,

    I am on Weight Watchers and it is a lot better to count points and not cells:} We are still praying for you and keep up your sense of humor. I am learning a lot about the whole cancer process so thanks for taking time to write about your journey. Take care my friend.

    Jon V.

Leave a Reply

