Live from the Clinic


Tuesday, August 12, 11 am – I’m reporting “live” from the oncology clinic at Memorial hospital in Colorado Springs on my first round of chemotherapy. I’m doing this for the same reasons I started this blog: to be a record of my thoughts and experiences and to demystify the whole cancer process for others.

 

I took my first dose of chemo before I got here, five Prednisone pills. Now I’m on my Rituximab drip and all is going well. They have live music, free food, great staff; just like a four star restaurant. I feel spoiled.

  

The surgery to put in my port went well yesterday. The port is a small receptacle placed under the skin with a tube leading into the vein above the heart. Chemo drugs are too caustic for ordinary veins so they are to be injected here where blood volume is greater and dispersement faster. 

3 thoughts on “Live from the Clinic

  1. Thanks for all the updates! The blog really is a great idea. I think a lot of people will be interested once they stumble upon it. Be well, our thoughts and prayers are with you.

  2. I bet these doctors have never met anyone like you!! Know I’m praying for you and have many other people lifting you up as well!
    Danielle

  3. Thanks for the live blog! I’ll keep a look out for the other posts throughout the day. Praying all goes smoothly. 🙂

Leave a Reply

