Stunt Double


Those who know me were not fooled by the photos accompanying my last post so I’ll admit that I used a stunt double (my son-in-law) for the climbing shots. Being a professional writer, I couldn’t risk injuring my fingers on a vertical rock wall. Plus, I’m afraid of height.

 

There are things in life for which a stunt double would be absolutely great:

  • giving birth
  • IRS audits
  • root canals
  • prostate exams
  • chemo

Speaking of which, I had my pre-chemo blood workup today and am cleared for round three tomorrow. On Wednesday I go back for my Neulasta shot. A strong chemo regime results in a low white blood count—known as neutropenia—that increases the risk of infections. Neulasta is a white cell booster that, along with the Rituximab given at the start of chemo, has dramatically improved survivability. Especially for Non Hodgkin’s Lymphoma.

 

Better living through drugs!

 

According to the Mayo Clinic, the five-year survival rate for NHL has risen to 63%. It’s even higher when it’s caught in the early stages, when the person is under 60, and when there are no other complications. All true in my case.

 

Next Monday I have to see a cardiologist because my heart has decided to skip a beat now and then. Not enough to cause problems, and I’m not even sure the doctor will find it, but it has to be checked out.

 

I’m told I look much younger without the gray hair, so I may keep my chrome dome after all this is over. Then there’s the money I’ll save on haircuts and shampoo.

3 thoughts on “Stunt Double

  1. Thanks so much for sharing your journey. I was recently diagnosed with exactly the same cancer (but stage 1) and will be going through my second r-chop treatment in a week. It has been nerve wracking to say the least, but it is calming to read your blog. Good luck with everything – my thoughts are with you.

    Thanks for the confirmation regarding chemo farts!

  2. I don’t know how “in shape” you are, but I know I couldn’t have climbed even a challenging slope, let alone climb the rocks as your stunt double did! You were wise not to get yourself in that situation. We writers have to protect ourselves!

Leave a Reply

