Clean PET


The results of my recent PET scan came back on Friday and Dr. Dax pronounced me in “unofficial remission!” “Remission” means there’s no sign of cancer in my body; “unofficial” is because this has to be confirmed by a follow up PET in three months. I have some slightly enlarged lymph nodes where the tumors used to be but this could be from scar tissue.

 

I still have two rounds of chemo to go, plus follow up visits to the clinic for the next two years, but this diagnosis is as good as it can get at this stage. I feel like I’m in a beautiful clearing, yet still have a long way to go until I’m out of the woods. Cancer can return, especially in the first two years after treatment. I’ll continue with my dietary and other changes to improve my odds of turning remission into a cure, which is a five-year process.

 

According to The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society, the five-year relative survival rate for NHL has risen from 31% among Caucasians in the 1960s to 65% for all races by 2004. It looks like I‘ve been effectively drugged into the fortunate two-thirds of the equation.

 

Thanks to all of you who have prayed and written. It has meant so much to me physically and spiritually. Keep it up!

 

Oncologists don’t see as much success as other physicians. I told Dr. Dax to give himself a “W” for me. Let’s pray I stay in the win column.

 

12 thoughts on “Clean PET

  1. That is great news, Mike. We will continue to hold you up in prayer. Eat right and take your Geritol, eh!! (But if you’re eating “so right” then maybe the Geritol is unnecessary?)

    For we are His workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand, that we should walk in them. Ephesians 2:10

Leave a Reply

