Penultimate Post


I’m coming out of the chemo fog for what I hope is the last time. If my January scan confirms I’m clean, I’ll be officially declared “in remission.” YEA!

 

But there’s a P.S. Lymphoma has a nasty habit of returning, so they’ll keep a close eye on me for the next two years. I’m on the low end of the risk scale but I’ll take nothing for granted.

 

My challenges going forward will be finding a publisher for my books and a source of steady income. I have expensive healthcare premiums to keep up, which I’ll gladly take over funeral expenses. I’m certainly not alone. Millions of Americans are looking for work. Having talent isn’t enough (he said modestly); one must find a paying audience for it.

 

As for this blog, I think I’ll wind down my posts by the end of the year. However, I’ll keep it online to help those who find themselves blindsided by cancer. I’d like my research and reflections to contribute to the literature in a small way. I know how encouraged I’ve been by the writings of others, from survivors like Lance Armstrong (It’s Not About The Bike) to casualties like Randy Pausch (The Last Lecture).

 

Adde parvum parvo magnus acervus erit” – Ovid

 

4 thoughts on “Penultimate Post

  1. I am SO glad to hear it! But I think you should keep this blog up…it is so great!

    I emailed you, but I’m not sure if you got it. Here’s what I just wrote:

    Hi Mike,

    I hope you are doing better. I was wondering if you found out if the books were sent to the blog members or not? I also need the first chapter in MS Word (not doc.x and not copy and pasted from pdf).

    Thanks,

    Mimi

  2. Mike,
    On Friday, my husband’s oncologist uttered those beautiful words we’ve been waiting to hear: “You are in remisssion!”

    Here’s hoping that you hear the same great news.

  3. I like the new picture of you and Emma. You are such a cutie with your shiny dome. Usually after a fog lifts, the sun shines extra bright – both in the weather world and in the world of our minds and bodies. Love you little bro.

Leave a Reply

