Happy Holidays


I have a lot to be happy about this holiday season:

 

I saw the doctor on Monday and will have a CT scan in a few weeks. If it’s clear, I’ll officially be “in remission.”

 

I am a month out of chemo and starting to grow my hair back. It’s coming in slowly and as gray as before.

 

I have weaned myself off the sleeping pills and am getting decent zzzzz about every other night.

 

I get to spend time with my loved ones, who accept me unconditionally.

 

The most positive experience of 2008 was the outpouring of love and prayers I received from family, friends and strangers. This blog has been a big part of that, so I’ve decided to keep it going but to change the focus from lymphoma to life.

 

The most draining experience of 2008 wasn’t cancer; it was not having meaningful and consistent work. Being among the millions of Americans who are un-or-under employed has been more emotionally draining than facing my own mortality.

 

Staying alive means earning a living and for me that means writing; at least until I get old enough to be a Wal-Mart greeter. Hopefully I can write myself out of this predicament in 2009.

 

Merry Christmas and a Solvent New Year!

 

One thought on “Happy Holidays

  1. Merry Christmas to the Hamels! We will keep you in our prayers – health-wise and employment opportunities.
    We have so much to be thankful for – every time I run clean water out of the tap, I think – – – they can’t do this in Zimbabwe…

Leave a Reply

