Recovering Lymphomaniac


My name is Mike and I’m a recovering Lymphomaniac. It’s been six weeks since my last chemo binge. According to my most recent CT scan I’m tumor free but I don’t take this for granted. I continue to work hard at staying healthy.

 

Lymphos don’t have as much energy as they used to, so I shortened the typical 12-step recovery program by half.

 

1. I admitted I was NOT powerless over my disease – cancer cannot be controlled but it can be attacked.

 

2. I came to believe that a Power greater than myself could restore me to health – and did!

 

3. I made a decision to turn my life over to the care of God and oncologists as I understood them – with help from Google.

 

4. I made a searching physical inventory of my habits, listing all substances that had harmed me and determining to avoid them as much as possible – without becoming an anchorite.

 

5. I sought through prayer and meditation to improve my conscious contact with God – still working on it.

 

6. Having had a physical restoration as a result of these steps, I tried to encourage others to practice these principles – hence this blog.

 

Recovery starts with self but it’s not a self-help program. We need the good graces of others to survive. And without others, who would want to?

 

4 thoughts on “Recovering Lymphomaniac

  1. hi goon news on the results but can i just ask i’ve just had a lymohnode removed from my neck for a biopsy im absolutely terrified its may well be non hodgkins lymphoma i’ve lsot 5 stone in 8 weeks and i started to itch allover like a maniac i had a scan on my neck and the sonographer said there were 2 of the swollen 5 lymph nodes that had gone beyond the cervical muscle and were just slightly smaller than a golf ball im terrified im only 22 and i ahve 2 young children any ideas??? anyone please????

  2. I found your blog in a search here on wordpress. Bravo and congratulations!! I am fighting leukemia (CML), I was told I was terminal about 4 years ago, and I am still here! Us cancer patients are survivors, yes we are! Keep up the good fight and stay strong!

  3. Hey, Mike! Wow, what a journey you’ve been on. I don’t know if you remember me, but I used to be one of your neighbors on Chutney. I remember reading your Matterhorn books and writing reviews on them for a free-of-charge book. I still hold on to those books and am sincerely grateful for your generosity. I have always thought it was really neat to live close to a writer like you- you have always been an inspiration in my writing. I am so happy for those CT results! God can most certainly help you overcome any of life’s obstacles.

Leave a Reply

