It’s Back!


Actually the cancer never left; it was just suppressed by the R CHOP chemo. The quick return indicates what is called “refractory” disease rather than relapse, which is a return after remission.

 

Turns out this makes me typical. “While overall survival rates of adults with Diffuse Large B-cell Lymphoma (DLBCL) have improved since the advent of R CHOP chemotherapy, a significant number will still experience early treatment failure.”

 

The usual approach to refractory DLBCL is high-dose chemotherapy and Autologous Stem Cell Transplant (ASCT), a.k.a. a bone marrow transplant. My own stem cells will be harvested and used; no donors or embryos involved.

 

I have to get my port put back in next week and start two rounds of prep chemo (six weeks) before the transplant, which will be done at the Rocky Mountain Cancer Center in Denver. I’ll know more after I meet with the transplant team.

 

Stay tuned for more details.

 

The adventure continues . . .

 

10 thoughts on “It’s Back!

  1. I’m so sorry for this disappointing news for you and your family. We will step up the prayers here in Clackamas and ask the Lord give you an even bigger portion of all the strength and endurance you will need to go through each procedure and step in the process.
    Hang in there, Mike.

  2. Hi Mike – am I allowed to say, “bummer, I’m really sorry” Not quite the typical Christian thing to say but it best sums up my feelings. Geoff and I will keep you, Susan and your family in our prayers. BTW, what is your postal address?

    Take care
    CarolAnne

Leave a Reply

