Roots and Shoots


Ah, there’s nothing quite like the sound and smell of a dentist’s drill. Bring back memories? For me it seems like only yesterday that I spent over two hours in the chair while having a defective root canal redone. There was little pain thanks to nurse Novocain as Dr. Roth rooted (sic) around like a banker looking for TARP money. Keeping my jaw wide open for that long was the main challenge.

Relax

The old dentistry had been done with the equivalent of super glue and only the consummate skill of Dr. Roth kept me from needing oral surgery to repair the problem. Getting a clean bill of health from a dentist is one of the many requirements for a bone marrow transplant.

I spent the afternoon with Jeff Rowes, a lawyer with the Institute for Justice in Arlington, VA. I’ve agreed to be a client in their litigation to change the law concerning bone marrow donors.

I’m also starting a project with two of my cohorts from Sophia’s to put some of my story on video. Harriet is an accomplished artist and Dave is the director of media for the library district.

Stay tuned for more details about these audacaous plans.

3 thoughts on “Roots and Shoots

  1. Ooh — exciting! Can Nate & I join you if you testify on capital hill? We can show you the town. 🙂 Nah, that’s exciting that you’re taking that step. I look forward to your next blog.

  2. How does the law regarding bone marrow donors need to be changed? I’m asking from the point of view of complete ignorance…
    Our prayers continue to be with you, Mike.

Leave a Reply

