9th Round


I’m at the Rocky Mountain Cancer Center (RMCC) in downtown Denver for my 9th round of chemo starring Cytoxan (Cyclophosphamide) and Etoposide (VP-16). I’ve had them both before. The former is an alkylating agent derived from mustard gas and the latter is a topoisomerase inhibitor.

This is a three-day bout to mobilize my stem cells for collection in a week or so. I’ll be on an hydration pump for the next 24 hours as well as a second pump for Mesna to help protect my bladder. When given in high doses, Cytoxan breaks down to produce acrolein, which is toxic to the bladder. Mesna binds to and inactivates it, preventing or reducing organ damage.

I’ve been very impressed with the people and procedures at RMCC. They do over 200 transplants a year and really know their stuff. I’m in very good hands. I have a private room, attentive nurses and WiFi, plus my sweetie is with me.

What more could I ask for?

2 thoughts on “9th Round

  1. Mike –

    I spoke to you via email in Feb. regarding my hubby who was then newly dx with diffuse large b-cell lymphoma. I am sorry to say that he was at a satge 4 and didn’t survive but until the end of March. I am trying to rebuild and be father and mother to our kids. He laughted and joked to the end and your posts remind me of him so much! I am so sorry that It’s baaaaack for you. I will pray very hard for you and your family. Thank you for the info and the laughs too 🙂 I’ll be checking in frequently.

    Jennifer J.
    Merced, CA

  2. Mike,
    I only hope for the best for you on this journey and glad you are in a good center with excellent people. Know people are thinking of you

Leave a Reply

