Back to Base Camp


I had my exit interview and Hickman Line out Monday and a few more tests done before I got to come home yesterday. It’s great to be back in the Springs and to sleep in my own bed.

The transplant was a success. My bone marrow was destroyed and my “clean” stem cells engrafted. They are now busy producing white blood cells and platelets but it will be a few months before I start growing red blood cells, hence the fatigue.

I’ve been rebooted; it remains to be seen if there is any cancer left in the system. I get my first scan in three months.

The only lingering cloud is some probable lung damage caused by the BCNU chemo. The treatment is 10 weeks of high-dose steroids (Prednisone) and the potential side effects—insomnia, cataracts, skin cancer—are not really something I want to face but it is what it is.

Thanks to everyone who has prayed, written and followed me along the way. Another mountain has been summitted but life is a serrated range, not a single peak. The best we can do is keep moving, enjoy the scenery, aim for the passes, avoid wildlife that weighs more than us and never travel alone.

The journey is not done and neither am I. Stay tuned for more posts from the perimeter.

9 thoughts on “Back to Base Camp

  1. Great to hear that you are home, you are in my thoughts and prayers. Thanks for sharing your wisdom and humor.

  2. Good to hear that the cells took hold. I hope things keep progressing. You are a great example of how we all should handle adversity. P.S. I don’t have to worry about wildlife- I have a dachshund to protect me.

  3. Mike … Such great news to be back home and healing well! Continue the great updates … we read then daily.
    Hang tough …
    Dave

Leave a Reply

