Home Alone


Writing is a lonely profession, especially when you don’t have any projects to work on. Having a home office can be lonely as well. And then there’s injury and illness, which can lead to bouts of isolation.

Isolation isn’t good for the soul. We are born with the innate need to connect to others.

“Connectedness for the average, healthy (sigh) person is a part of who we are and how we function. It is wired into our brains when we are still in our mother’s womb. This connectedness is passed on by our genes and is necessary for us to survive and thrive as healthy, capable persons.” Hooked

I can hardly wait to start driving again. I miss going to Sophia’s in the morning to write. I miss meeting friends and potential clients for coffee or Happy Hour. I miss being in a rock band.

(Okay, the last/only band I was in was 40 years ago during high school. I played bass for The British Walkers. The closest any of us had been to England was the globe in the school library, but still, it was a cool name.)

I hope to be given the thumbs up to drive when I see the orthopod on Thursday. Today I see the oncologist to get the results of my PET scan. I hope he has good news.


2 thoughts on “Home Alone

  1. I’m with you, Mike. Working from a home office seems to make one’s world quite small. How blessed you are to have family–especially young, lively family–nearby to keep you energized! You do such a good job of staying connected via your well written blogs. Thank you. Praying for continued healing for you, Mike.

  2. Just wait until you have two grandchildren move into your house… you might crave some isolation after that. 😉 Love you Dad!!!

Leave a Reply

