Off the Cuff


Rotator Cuff that is. My right one has been bothering me since my accident last August. After three unsuccessful rounds of physical therapy I finally had an MRI, which showed a “full tear in the supraspinatus tendon,” the topmost of the four tendons that hold the shoulder in place and comprise the rotator cuff.

Shoulder joint

If a rotator cuff tendon becomes inflamed or is partially torn, it can cause pain and limit shoulder movement. If a tendon tears completely, the corresponding muscle can no longer affect movement of the arm. This type of injury usually causes severe limitations in shoulder movement as a result of pain and weakness.

I saw an orthopedic surgeon yesterday and I’m scheduled for repair surgery on the 18th. My right arm will be in a sling for several weeks and it will be several months before I regain full motion. At least I’ll still be able to type.

Rotator Cuff Surgery:

  • The surgeon removes any scar tissue that has built up on the tendon.
  • The surgeon carves a small trough at the top of the upper arm, then drills small holes through the bone.
  • Finally, the surgeon sews the tendon to the bone, with the sutures going through the tiny holes in the upper arm. (Sometimes a surgeon will use permanent anchors to attach the tendon to bone.)

Other famous athletes have had this surgery and extended their careers. I’ll let you know how mine goes.

10 thoughts on “Off the Cuff

  1. Ahh Mike, Brother it’s nice to see your smile and to know that you haven’t lost your sense of humor.

    I came across your blog yesterday by accident. I’m setting up my blog, and talking with Dave Sanford as I’m working on a book and I ran across your blogg.

    I added your blog to my blog roll. I have always respected you and your work for the Lord.

    I miss the days of Hinneni (i miss my youth and being able to bend over without going Oiii)

    I finally got married and have a 5 yr old son, at 50. He keeps me busy.

    It goes without saying, but since so many don’t say it, it’s worth saying, you are in our prayers, as is your family.

    1. David Sanford was my literary agent for a few years. He helped me get my juvenile fiction series published. Has he given you the honest truth about the publishing biz? How hard it is to break even, much less make money? I’ve been at the game for 14 years and would be happy to share any advice that may be useful. I’m also an editor-for-hire should you be looking for that kind of help.

      1. I never asked him for the full truth. I have done a lot of reading and research. I know it’s hard to break into the business let alone make money.

        I’m in the process of getting a literary agent, David steared me towards Amazon.com’s new create space.
        I would like to find a literary agent to stear me towards a publisher but create space is an option due to Amazon’s mass advertising and fairly decent commission per book written. The more books the more you make.
        I’m more concerned about the truth getting out than the amount of money.

        Thanks for the heads up on the editor info. Currently My professor at school is working with me because he wants to help me and he’s a published writer but if he ever gets busy I’ll remember your offer of help. I’m currently going through my professor because he’s free and I’ve been unemployed for a year and a half. 🙂

        Thank you very much for your offer of help. I appreciate it.

        Thanks
        B

  2. Dear Mike: Don’t forget to consider nerve supply to the shoulder to help the healing and post-op process. Also, we are finding laser to be very helpful in these types of problems.

  3. Hi Mike. I feel your pain. I have pain in my right shoulder for at least a year. Have gone to physical therapy, but have not been able to be consistent with it. They think it is a partial RCT. I’ve had two cortisone shots in it. The last one helping much more than the first. It sounds like yours is much worse than mine. I will be interested how your surgery turns out. My dad had RC surgery and was limited with his arm afterward (not what you wanted to hear). However, it probably depends on where the tear is and how severe. My dad was much older also. Will pray for the best result for you!! Linda Z.

    1. Thanks for the prayers, Linda. I have the best shoulder man in town and the operation is pretty straightforward. I’m hoping for a full recovery so I can concentrate on my other health problems, like early onset Alzheimer’s.

Leave a Reply

