Disease of the Week


A new week, a new disease to test for. It’s called Celiac disease. A friend and follower of this blog brought it to my attention as she read my symptoms and the nurse practitioner at the clinic confirmed it as a possible candidate in my case.

Celiac disease is an autoimmune digestive disease that damages the villi of the small intestine and interferes with absorption of nutrients from food.

When people with celiac disease eat foods containing gluten, their immune system responds by damaging the finger-like villi of the small intestine.

Left untreated, people with celiac disease can develop further complications such as other autoimmune diseases, osteoporosis, thyroid disease and cancer.

Celiac disease can be difficult to diagnose because it can present in a variety of different ways. The disease can be diagnosed using a blood test and confirmation biopsy. The only treatment is a lifelong gluten-free diet.

The interesting thing about Celiac is that it can be dormant until triggered by physical trauma. In my case I have several to choose from, surgery being the most recent.

I should have the results next week. Either I’ll have a new lifestyle to learn or another malady to cross of my list in the search for what ails me.

One thought on “Disease of the Week

  1. Mike,
    I just wanted to encourage you to hang in there. Hopefully the GI doc can find out what’s going on. I’ll continue to pray.

    Love you,
    Linda

Leave a Reply

