Seven Ounces


Over the years my search for reasonable answers to spiritual questions has led me away from theological certainty and toward a more tenuous faith. I believe healthy curiosity fuels growth and maturity but I harbor no illusions of ever being able to:

master the mysterious,
unscrew the inscrutable,
comprehend life’s conundrums,
elucidate the enigmas of the eternal,
parse the paradoxes of pain and suffering.

As a finite being I don’t have much to work with when it comes to getting my head around God’s essence or his ways. The average human brain weighs three pounds. (Einstein was an exception at 2.7 pounds.) It is about 80% water, which leaves just seven ounces of solid tissue.

The brain is not lazy but it is soft—the consistency of jell-O—and flabby. At nearly 60% fat, it’s the fattest organ in the body. When cranking at full capacity it uses enough energy to light a 25-watt bulb. Not a lot of candle power with which to contemplate the Creator.

If we kept our puny physiology in mind we would not be so spiritually smug about doctrines and dogma. Our worship and fellowship would reflect more humility and less hubris.Wouldn’t that be a welcome change.

(100 Fascinating Facts You Never Knew About the Human Brain)

4 thoughts on “Seven Ounces

  1. A teacher was giving a lesson on the circulation of the blood. Trying to make the matter clearer, she said, ‘Now, class, if I stood on my head, the blood, as you know, would run into it, and I would turn red in
    the face.’

    ‘Yes,’ the class said.

    ‘Then why is it that while I am standing upright in the ordinary position the blood doesn’t run into my feet?’

    A little fellow shouted,
    ‘Cause your feet ain’t empty.’ : )

Leave a Reply

