Pathology Report


The post-surgical pathology report showed:

  • High grade (fast growing) squamous cell carcinoma in the parotid gland and some surrounding nerves and muscle. Rare.
  • The “edges” were clean, which is an indication the surgeon got all the tumor. Good.
  • The 15 lymph nodes that were removed showed no signs of cancer. Very Good.

I meet with Dr. Hazuka on Friday to discuss follow up-radiation, which I expect he will want to start sooner rather than later. I’m not a big fan of radiation and have to do more research before making my decision. What it destroys will be permanently gone. I could take a “wait and see” approach, but if there are still some tumor cells and the cancer returns, radiation won’t be as effective.

Physically I’m regaining my energy. The left side of my mouth has minor problems due to a cut muscle. I’m getting some pain as the nerves start to grow back but my neck looks worse than it feel.

The overall outcome is positive but the battle continues and I have to get my head around that.

2 thoughts on “Pathology Report

  1. Mike, So sorry you have to go thru this AGAIN! But the report sounds encouraging. Praying for God’s wisdom for you as you make your decisions and for strength to go thru this yet again. And for HEALING! 🙂

  2. I am encouraged by your good report and wish you continued health and healing. You are blessing many of us with your story, we are cheering for you!

Leave a Reply

