I Will Sing for You


I try not to lie in church as much as I used to. I don’t say to someone who shares a problem with me that, “I’ll pray for you,” because I probably won’t. And I don’t sing the verses to songs that aren’t true in my life at the time.

On Saturday I was at a service where we were asked to stand and sing, It Is Well With My Soul. I told Paul, who was sitting next to me, “I’ll stand, but I won’t lie.”

As I stood there silently with wet eyes, Paul put his arm around me and said, “It’s alright, I’ll sing for you.”

That’s Christianity.

5 thoughts on “I Will Sing for You

  1. I am told that the person who wrote this song did so after losing his wife and children. He must have been a much stronger person then I am because I have a hard time just singing this song and it has been over 2 years since my husband died. I believe God is in control and I trust Him totally but it is still hard losing someone you love. I will not lie and say that it is always “well with my soul” but I do feel God’s presence in the pain and I thank God for caring friends.

Leave a Reply

