Fire Drill


God has blessed me with a gaggle of great friends. I just spent two weeks enjoying the hospitality of a few of them—and missing the ones left at home, especially my family.

As I flew back on Tuesday, my neighborhood was being evacuated ahead of the Waldo Canyon fire. I was at baggage claim when my son called from the house asking what I wanted him to grab. I had prepared a list the day before. It was surprisingly short—photo albums, memory boxes and important papers. All things he had already loaded. (And the two carboys of Toe Tag wine of course.) Smart kid.

What makes pictures and keepsakes so valuable are the relationships they represent. Aristotle once said, “Without friends no one would choose to go on living, though he possessed every other good thing.” As far as I’m concerned, “every other good thing” could burn up without much loss. It will soon enough anyway.

For more than 32,000 of us in Colorado Springs, this was no drill. What would you save if you only had an hour? That’s where you should be spending your time and money now.

You don’t need a fire to teach you that.

2 thoughts on “Fire Drill

  1. Thinking of everyone I know who has had to evacuate from from the threat of fire over there in Colorado Springs, I found my self walking through the house, noting what I would take. You are right about things that are connections with friends. Many are also testimonies/reminders of God’s love, care and protection in the past. One of these days, we will all pass from life on earth, and we will not be taking anything with us. The question to ask is, “Am I ready?”

  2. It’s good to hear from you this morning. I thank God you are safe, and your loved ones too. My youngest son (now my only son) lives in CS. He was evacuated on Tues. We are still waiting for news of his house.

Leave a Reply

