Bible Quilt


My mom was a world-class quilter. Her museum-quality handiwork once hung in the Colorado state capital. I have several of her quilts, each painstakingly stitched by hand.

A quilt features many pieces of cloth arranged by color or size into an ornamental pattern. Similarly, the Bible is a collection of variously shaped pieces (books) penned over sixteen centuries in three languages on three continents by at least forty authors. And who knows how many editors, redactors, priests and scribes played a role in the finished product. Miraculously, it’s a beautifully cohesive and coherent whole.

There’s nothing else like the Bible on the planet. There are other holy books that have spawned world religions; other anthologies of sacred writings that are revered by millions, but nothing with the intricacy or impact of the Old and New Testaments.

I believe the separate pieces were fashioned by human artisans and sewn into a divinely designed pattern. They used the thread and cloth (words and metaphors) available to them and God used the prophets and people available to him—without making them puppets.

Some say there’s not a stitch out of place in Scripture; that the original fabric is flawless. But this blanket (sic) statement is difficult to defend. An “all or nothing” argument creates more problems than it addresses and makes it harder for many to accept the book’s main message.

How can the Bible be inspired without being inerrant? The same way a teacher or pastor can be effective without being infallible. God works with what he has and somehow manages to “write straight with crooked lines.”

The important thing is that his book is authoritative in our lives.

2 thoughts on “Bible Quilt

  1. My struggle is that I can only see two logical choices. Either the Bible is 100% without error or it is a book without usefulness. Once we agree that there are errors in the Bible then each one of us becomes personal arbitrators of what we choose to believe is true and what we decide must not be true. When that happens the Bible now simply supports our views rather than shapes them. Anytime we read something that we don’t want to acknowledge or embrace … We just label that as one of the parts that is in error. I know that sounds overly simplistic … But for me … If you can’t believe all of God’s Word then you can’t with confidence believe any of it. I guess I don’t trust my limited knowledge and wisdom to discern which parts are there that I should consider in error. I have no problem believing that the God who created the universe is capable of guiding the various authors to write exactly what He wanted written.
    Just my two cents …

  2. Mike,
    Well written once again but I have a real hard time when people say they know the main message of the bible. When I was a believer and a worship leader for a major church I pretty much new the main message and that was in John. I came to the conclusion that it was untrue and it represented separatism or a very inclusive club called Christianity. 67% of the worlds religions are not Christians. That represents a large number of people going to hell. I really don’t understand how a homeowner who didn’t loose their home in the fire says “God was watching over us and we kept our home”. My question is why wasn’t God watching over all the other home owners? Mike, i don’t know anyone who has the answer, especially Christians. I was a Jew who became a Christian at the age of 32 and born again at 33. At 60, one day i found the truth and a peace that really does pass all human understanding and it’s not Christ or Christianity.

    Shalom, me

Leave a Reply

