Moving On


I’m selling my house and much of what’s in it to cut expenses and simplify my lifestyle. This way I’ll be able to afford my addictions a while longer: writing books, making wine, spending time with interesting people and searching for truth.

There are seasons during which we need stuff and space, such as when we’re building a career or raising a family. And there are times later in life to shed and simplify rather than filling up basements, garages and storage units with artifacts.

Downsizing can be hard if you equate wealth with the amount of stuff you own or space you control. But to me it’s liberating because I think of wealth in terms of freedom, flexibility and the ability to focus.

Book Sale

books-2.jpg

When his publisher made Henry David Thoreau buy most of the print run of his first book, Thoreau wrote, “I have now a library of nearly nine hundred volumes, over seven hundred of which I wrote myself.” Like Thoreau, most of the books in my house are ones I’ve written. Rather than put them in storage I’m selling Matterhorn books for $2 and TLC books for $3 each (plus postage). Email me at emtcom@comcast.net if you want to buy any.

3 thoughts on “Moving On

  1. and there’s something to be said about getting rid of things, in that you won’t have to see yourself on the next episode of “Hoarders – buried alive” 🙂

    I love your attitude Mike. You have long been an inspiration to myself and I’m sure others. Your sense of humor is priceless.

Leave a Reply

