Enduring Relevance?


Dallas Willard writes in The Divine Conspiracy:

Jesus enduring relevance is based on his historically proven ability to speak to, to heal and empower the individual human condition. He matters because of what he brought and what he still brings to ordinary human beings, living their ordinary lives and coping daily with their surroundings. He promises wholeness for their lives. In sharing our weakness he gives us strength and imparts through his companionship a life that has the quality of eternity.

He comes where we are and he brings us the life we are hungry for. An early report reads, “Life was in him, life that made sense of human existence” (John 1:4). To be the light of life, and to deliver God’s life to women and men where they are and as they are, is the secret of the enduring relevance of Jesus.

What happens when Jesus doesn’t do this? When the promised wholeness, strength and meaning don’t materialize in ways that make a difference? When his enduring relevance is so secret it’s imperceptible?

In the absence of experience one clings to hope.

3 thoughts on “Enduring Relevance?

  1. Mike, what hope are you talking about? In my old age I’ve come to realize that Jesus, Mohamed, Buddha, Ala etc etc all pretty much offer the same things in different formats. I say” what ever turns you on”, go ahead and do it as long as it benefits others. I believe in a creator but don’t have a clue of his name, nor do I care. I once knew it was Jesus and one day i realized how I had allowed myself to be miss led by so many people as to Jesus and the entire Christianity thing. I say no thank you to all of it and will do my best for my fellow man until my last breath.

    Me, one of my people

Leave a Reply

