Ten Syllable Disease


Anything that begins with “Hypo” and ends with “nemia” can’t be good but fortunately it’s not as bad as it sounds. After months of searching and dozens of tests I’ve finally found the apparent root of my maladies. Test results from the Mayo Clinic revealed an immune deficiency known as Hypogammaglobulinemia:

a disorder caused by a lack of B-lymphocytes and a resulting low level of immunglobulins (antibodies) in the blood. Immunoglobulins play a dual role in the immune response by recognizing foreign antigens and triggering a biological response that eliminates the antigen. Antibody deficiency is associated with recurrent infections.

IgG

My immune system doesn’t make enough Immunoglobulin G (IgG), which supplies 85% of the antibodies in the blood. In particular I can’t mount a defense against pneumococcus. This explains my frequent bouts of pneumonia, low-grade infections and lack of energy.

I have to get monthly infusions of IVIG for the rest of my life, which should improve my health and help me stay around awhile longer.

I hope so. I have more wine to make and books to write.

6 thoughts on “Ten Syllable Disease

  1. Wow Mike, this sounds like a major break-through in understanding what is going on with your body. If the the IVIG does what is intended it sounds like it could have a significant positive impact on your quality of life. I’m looking forward to celebrating good results with you!

      1. Sorry, I have not heard of that happening. Glad the doctors have something which will temporarily help. Loie & I will be in Durango in October. Is that far from you? Rod

Leave a Reply

