Dancing Between Tables


Comfort zone

When was the last time you stepped outside your comfort zone?

Last week Cindy and I went to a jazz concert featuring Tony Exum, Jr. at the Stargazers Theatre. When he invited the audience to dance, we were among the few who did, finding a wide spot between tables.

We were also among the few Anglos there, doing the East Coast Swing, Cha-Cha and Rhumba in a room full of African Americans. No doubt many of them were better dancers, but they remained seated—and we didn’t.

Guess who had more fun.

Mike and Cindy

Garth Brooks captures this spirit in one of my favorite songs, The River:

Too many times we stand aside
And let the waters slip away
‘Til what we put off ’til tomorrow
Has now become today
So don’t you sit upon the shoreline
And say you’re satisfied
Choose to chance the rapids
And dare to dance the tide.

Am I suggesting you jump out of a plane on a whim? My daughter did and got engaged on the way down. Or quit your dream job and move across country to raise your kids near family? My son did and later became one of 22 hires out of 1,200 applicants for the Denver Fire Department that year.

Not everything turns out well. Risks are risky for a reason. It’s definately safer to stay seated–but it’s way more fun to dance.

Go ahead; I dare you.

3 thoughts on “Dancing Between Tables

  1. Thank you for the great reminder that sometimes the greatest accomplishments in life are the moments when you “decide to jump” and take a risk of trying something new. I left my beautiful home, Hawaii, to regain my sanity and find myself. While it was the scariest thing I have ever had to do, I took a chance to see if Colorado Springs was the key to my happiness and sanity. It was the most stressful, devastating thing leaving the place where I was born and raised to move somewhere totally new, but it was one of the BEST decisions I have ever made in my life. =)

Leave a Reply

