Outgrowing My Skin


This is the title of one of the book I’m currently writing. It picks up where my two previous autobiographical books left off. Stumbling Toward Heaven tells of my battles with cancer. Not an enemy to give up easily, it has demanded a rematch, so I find myself prepping for a second bone marrow transplant on July 26. I will be in Denver for three months afterward while I grow a new immune system.

I plan to keep writing as my health improves but Outgrowing My Skin won’t be another cancer book. It will be more along the lines of We Will Be Landing Shortly, which sketches my spiritual journey from Catholic youth through Evangelical adulthood to my current state of spiritual nomad.

Outgrowing some things is natural and healthy. I’m thankful to be past puberty, pimples and proms. I’ve said goodbye to Santa and the Easter Bunny. I’ve progressed from infantile emotions through teen angst to early onset Alzheimer’s. But I’ve also outgrown my earlier ideas about God, truth, the Bible, prayer, the afterlife and other vital beliefs. I still have them, just in different iterations.

Outgrowing is my ongoing journey of discovery. Obviously I want to influence others or I wouldn’t spend the time and emotional energy it takes to write. But not everyone will agree with my processes or conclusions, nor should they. I don’t even agree with myself half the time.

I believe I’m headed in the right direction but I doubt I’m taking the shortest, safest route to get there. I’m a curious traveler who wanders off the trail and into the weeds.

What can I say; I like to poke my nose into things.

SMELLING FLOWERS

6 thoughts on “Outgrowing My Skin

  1. You are an amazing person and good friend to many. Though I’ve only known you a bit- I am sure you are as inspiring to many as you are to me.

    You are in my thoughts and prayers- be strong again.

  2. Mike…I am right there with you wandering in awe and wonder at this raw mystery that we call life.
    As Gandalf wrote to Frodo Baggins when he was inBree:

    “All that is gold does not glitter,
    Not all those who wander are lost;
    The old that is strong does not wither,
    Deep roots are not reached by the frost.
    From the ashes a fire shall be woken,
    A light from the shadows shall spring;
    Renewed shall be blade that was broken,
    The crownless again shall be king.”

    You will be in my prayers, my friend.

  3. What a creative and bright summary of life and your future book: Outgrowing My Skin. I look forward to buying it when it is available.

    My heart is with you now, but especially on July 26th! I have that date on my calendar to be praying ….. more than casually ….. for you. Sharon’s health issues are much the same, but bless her, she hasn’t given up Hope.

    Your friend,

    Dave Burdine >

  4. Look forward to reading this Mike. Just arrived in San Jose for Passage CA. Appreciate you prayers…if you believe in their efficacy. 🤔

    Craig Glass Peregrine Ministries 719.229.8258 Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a Reply

