Storytellers


There’s no history without story.

Stories are how we make sense of the world. They guide us through life just as the stars and constellations guided ancient explorers across uncharted lands and seas. Stories are conveyed in various forms: fables and fairytales, poems and songs, epics and essays, plays and movies, limericks and jokes. Storytellers are those who create or pass them along.

Common stories are shared around campfires and tables. Sacred stories are compiled in holy books. The truest stories are condensed into jokes. The themes are the same, only the heroes and the settings change. It’s far too late for original stories (or original sin for that matter). All we can do is retell the good ones with panache.

matterhorn-covers

I’ve been a storyteller most of my life. I started EMT Communications in 1996 and my business card reads “Chief Storyteller.” Long before that I made up bedtime stories for my kids, which grew into the Matterhorn the Brave series. From that root sprang the TLC books, which feature my grandkids.

I’ve penned two autobiographical books along the way that chronicle some of the harder chapters in my life. I’m candid about my physical infirmities, emotional challenges and spiritual questions. I share my hurts in a somewhat humorous fashion but they are hurts nonetheless.

We are all storytellers. Social media has made it easier to share our stories in long form (blogs) or short bursts (Twitter). Reaching an audience is no longer the problem. Saying something unique and worthwhile remains the challenge.

“Anything that is not autobiography is plagiarism.”
—Pedro Almodovar

Leave a Reply

